Call it on the fly


2013
February 25, 2013, 7:08 pm
Filed under: training, Uncategorized, Wrestling

Well it has certainly been a while since I last updated my blog. For that matter it’s been a substantial amount of time since I’ve done any writing all together. Lack of inspiration, motivation and willingness to put in the time are all contributing factors, perhaps even sheer laziness.  My neglect in devoting any time to the written word truly stems from giving in to the resistance of everyday tasks and deeds. These inspire me to put off any sort of creative effort into anything that isn’t work, training, wrestling or Jiu-Jitsu. I have since read a book that has lit a proverbial fire under my ass in terms of recognizing what keeps me from finding a creative output and grinding through to actually create. “The War of Art” by Steven Pressfield although at times preachy, still helped deliver the message of what it takes to bypass one’s inner struggles at developing creatively. The next book I read will hopefully help me deal with the inner struggles of the “run-on sentence”.

Wrestling as of late has been treating me really well. The last time I wrote about wrestling was during the infamous “Iowa incident” and had left a bitter, self-loathing taste in my mouth. Since July I have been busy however, working for various companies and producing a lot of matches I’m very proud of. Matches with Adam Cole, Davey Richards, BJ Whitmer and Eddie Edwards to name a few I can at least look back with a fond memory (until I critically observe them on tape that is).  My most recent endeavor in Ring of Honor has been that of forming a new tag-team with my former rival Bobby Fish. ReDRagon. We began to gel instantly as a unit and I’m finding my personality and character growing and thriving, which it desperately needed. Our debut match was against the American Wolves at Final Battle and although we came up short we showed the World we have what it takes to be amongst the elite in Tag-team wrestling. This Saturday is the ROH 11th Anniversary iPPV in Chicago and we will challenge the Briscoe Brothers for the ROH tag-team titles. Be sure to check out the show either live or on iPPV as it’s sure to be a tremendous event.

Training has been new and fun the last 6 months or so too. Weight lifting has gone from power lifting, to cross fit, back to body building, back to taking a hiatus at a twice per week full body routine. My full time attention as of late has been focusing on Jiu-Jitsu. Back in October I won Gold in the Chicago S-7 no gi 205lbs division. Considering I weighed in at 192lbs I gave those other heavy hoggies a run for their money. I felt motivated after that event and began to finally enjoy and have fun at BJJ class. Previously training in Jiu-Jitsu felt like a grind and a necessity, it took an awakening of finding enjoyment and fun through the sport to make me take it more seriously. I’m certainly glad I did. I’m also once again playing Hockey once a week and training in Rugby once a week with games on the weekend, when I’m not booked that is. Usually I’ll fly home on Sunday and be able to make it to a Sunday game on time. Ironic considering the club’s name is “Sunday Morning Rugby Club” they play the majority of their games on Saturday. Anyways, I’ve discovered a great group of guys amongst the team and their clubhouse headquarters are always a great time full of cheap beer and cheap laughs.

Before finishing I have to give a shout out to King Fale of New Japan Pro-Wrestling who has recently returned to Japan after spending 9 months in St. Louis on his traditional Japanese excursion. He is a native of Tonga and grew up in Auckland, New Zealand. Rewarded a rugby scholarship he went to Japan, played pro-rugby for a few years before joining NJPW and getting fully trained under their dojo system. He is the one that discovered the Sunday Morning club and introduced me to the guys. Having played rugby throughout high school and college I was on board. Anyways a true pleasure having gained Fale as a friend, training partner, colleague and team mate. I highly recommend you follow him on Twitter (@KINGFALE) and mention something about #ALIENS. Thanks man!

Well as sloppy and incoherent as this initial blog may have been at least I finally broke some ground and got off my ass, only to sit down my ass and actually type. Going to make this a regular thing hence forth so stop on by and leave a comment. Hoping to keep up to date with various workouts, submissions I’ve been working on, pro-wrestling dates and matches and meals I’ve concocted and tried. Thanks for your time. K

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

